The Turkey Europe Future Forum is a project of Stiftung Mercator in cooperation with TUSIAD, under the patronage of Federica Mogherini, the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs.

Since 2015, The Turkey Europe Future Forum has been bringing together dedicated young leaders from Turkey and Europe for intensive dialogue in Turkey, Germany and other European countries.

For any questions about the Future Forum please contact Annkatrin Kaiser.

UPDATE: We are now accepting applications for the Turkey Europe Future Forum 2018 - Apply now!

Future Forum 2018: "Rethink Europe's Future"

The Turkey Europe Future Forum 2018 took place from July 1-8, 2018 in Paris and Berlin. The topic "Rethink Europe's Future" tackled questions like these: Which scenario for the future of the post-Brexit EU will prevail? Will Emmanuel Macron's pro-European tendencies lead to the strengthening of the Franco-German axis many have been awaiting? What will be the official German position in the aftermath of the post-election standstill? What consequences may the changes within Europe's framework have for neighbours and accession candidates, especially Turkey?

Exchanges between Young Leaders from Turkey, Germany and other European Countries

Every year, the Turkey Europe Future Forum enables 30 outstanding young leaders from Turkey, Germany and other European countries to benefit from an intensive exchange of ideas, substantial training measures and access to an important network. Costs for travel and accommodation are covered.

Eight Days of Thematic Dialogue in Turkey and in Europe

During the Future Forum, participants attend eight days of workshops, lectures and intercultural trainings  about a current issue and debate it from their country- and sector-specific perspectives. In addition, top-level guests, speakers and dialogue partners provide exclusive insights into the politics, economy, culture and society of the participating countries. Ümit Boyner, former president of TÜSIAD and one of Turkey’s most successful entrepreneurs, and Ruprecht Polenz, long-time member of the German Bundestag and former chair of the German Foreign Affairs Committee, are the programme deans. Federica Mogherini, the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice-President of the European Parliament is the Future Forum’s patron.

 

 

Think Like Europeans – In All Sectors

The goal of the Turkey Europe Future Forum is to reinforce networking and enhance mutual understanding among future decision-makers of Turkey, Germany and other European countries. The programme encourages all actors to adopt a European perspective and strengthens their ability to act, especially across sectors. The Future Forum provides fresh impetus to the Turkish-European debate.

 

 

Application Requirements

  • Between two and ten years’ professional experience in the fields of politics, economics, administration, culture, media, science or civil society (Note: Internships do not count)

  • Outstanding academic and professional qualifications

  • Turkish, German or another European citizenship
  • A university degree (preferably Master's degree or diploma)
  • Very good English skills

  • Strong interest in the respective topic of the Future Forum as well as European-Turkish relations

Online Application

The application period for the Turkey Europe Future Forum 2018 is now closed.

Dates & Deadlines

2018

  • January 8: Start of application period
  • February 18: Application deadline
  • April 9-11: Selection interviews in Berlin
  • April 12-13: Selection interviews in Istanbul
  • July 1-8: 4th Turkey Europe Future Forum

FAQ

You can apply with a German or Turkish passport or one from an EU member state. Holders of multiple passports need to clarify to which contingent they are applying. If you come from a European country that is not an EU member state please specify your interest in your application. We will elaborate on your individual case.

We select 30 participants each year and try to include one third each from Germany, Turkey and other European Countries.

No, as long as you can make a case for your interest in the Forum’s topic there are no restrictions on the issue of professional experience or disciplines.

You can download the full FAQ document here:  PDF 

 

 

Applications are accepted online only, using our Online Application Tool. After registering for the tool, you will be asked to fill out the required information and to upload your CV and motivation letter.

Applications sent via mail or by any method other than our online system will be deemed ineligible. If you have trouble accessing the Online Application Tool please contact us well before the deadline.

 

 

All project related expenses will be covered for participants of the programme. These include, among others, travel expenses from Europe and Turkey to the venue of the Forum (economy/coach class), public transportation to and from the airport to the hotel, accommodation and meals during the conference. The Forum does not cover any travel or additional costs incurred through participants' personal expenses. As a selected participant of the programme, you will receive more detailed information about the expenses covered together with the confirmation of participation.

No. However, the Future Forum is willing and open to discuss options regarding local child care services for parenting participants. If this is the case, we advise successful candidates to notify us at the earliest date possible to discuss and make the appropriate arrangement. For example, in the past we made sure that participants with children could be accompanied by their partners or parents, who then took care of the children during the programme.

Media & Downloads

Project Partners

Das Zukunftsforum Türkei Europa ist ein Projekt der Stiftung Mercator in Kooperation mit TUSIAD unter der Schirmherrschaft der EU-Außenbeauftragten Federica Mogherini.

Das Zukunftsforum Türkei Europa bringt seit 2015 jährlich engagierte türkische und europäische Nachwuchsführungskräfte zu einem intensiven Dialog zusammen. Die Programmphase findet im Wechsel in der Türkei und Deutschland sowie anderen europäischen Ländern statt.

Bei Fragen zum Zukunftsforum wenden Sie sich an Luisa Elsig.

Zukunftsforum 2018: "Rethink Europe's Future"

Das Zukunftsforum 2018 fand vom 1.-8. Juli 2018 in Paris und Berlin statt. Unter dem Titel "Rethink Europe's Future" wurden die folgenden Fragen diskutiert: Welches Post-Brexit Szenario wird die EU in Zukunft prägen? Wird Macron's pro-europäische Idee zu einer Stärkung der deutsch-französischen Achse führen und wie wird sich Deutschland nach der Koalitionsbildung aufstellen? Welche Konsequenzen werden die Veränderungen innerhalb Europas auf Nachbarn und Beitrittskandidaten, insbesondere die Türkei, haben?

 

 

Austausch zwischen Nachwuchsführungskräften aus der Türkei, Deutschland und anderen europäischen Ländern

Das Zukunftsforum Türkei Europa ermöglicht jährlich 30 exzellenten Nachwuchsführungskräften aus der Türkei, Deutschland und anderen europäischen Ländern einen intensiven Austausch, inhaltliche Weiterbildung und den Zugang zu einem interessanten Netzwerk. Die Kosten für die Programmteilnahme inklusive Anreise, Unterkunft und Verpflegung werden übernommen.

Achttägiger themenspezifischer Dialog in der Türkei und in Europa

Während der Programmphase des Zukunftsforums arbeiten die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer in Workshops, Vorträgen und interkulturellen Trainings acht Tage lang zu einem jeweils aktuellen Thema und diskutieren länder- und sektorenspezifische Perspektiven. Hochkarätige Gäste, Redner und Gesprächspartner ermöglichen darüber hinaus exklusive Einblicke in Politik, Wirtschaft, Kultur und Gesellschaft der beteiligten Länder. Ümit Boyner, ehemalige Präsidentin von TÜSIAD und eine der erfolgreichsten Unternehmerinnen der Türkei, sowie Ruprecht Polenz, langjähriges Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages und ehemaliger Vorsitzender des Auswärtigen Ausschusses, begleiten das Programm als Rektoren. Schirmherrin des Zukunftsforums ist Federica Mogherini, die Außenbeauftrage der Europäischen Union.

Europäisch denken in allen Sektoren

Das Ziel des Zukunftsforums Türkei Europa ist es, die Vernetzung und das gegenseitige Verständnis zukünftiger Entscheidungsträger aus der Türkei und Europa, besonders Deutschland, zu intensivieren. Das Programm fördert die europäische Perspektive aller Akteure und stärkt ihre Handlungsfähigkeit, insbesondere intersektoral. So erhält der türkisch-europäische Diskurs durch das Zukunftsforum neue Impulse.

 

 

Bewerbertool

Die Bewerbungszeit für das Zukunftsforum 2018 ist am 18. Februar 2018 geendet.

Bewerbungsvoraussetzungen

  •  Zwei bis zehn Jahre Berufserfahrung im Bereich Politik, Wirtschaft, Verwaltung, Kultur, Medien, Wissenschaft oder Zivilgesellschaft (Praktika werden nicht angerechnet)

  • exzellente akademische und berufliche Qualifikationen

  • türkische Staatsangehörigkeit, deutsche Staatsangehörigkeit oder Staatsangehörigkeit eines anderen europäischen Landes
  • Universitätsabschluss (Master, Diplom oder Staatsexamen)
  • sehr gute Englischkenntnisse

  • starkes Interesse am jeweiligen Thema des Zukunftsforums sowie an europäisch-türkischen Beziehungen im Allgemeinen

Termine & Fristen

2018

  • 8. Januar: Start der Bewerbungsphase
  • 18. Februar: Bewerbungsfrist
  • 9.-11. April: Auswahlgespräche in Berlin
  • 12.-13. April: Auswahlgespräche in Istanbul
  • 1.-8. Juli: Zukunftsforum Türkei Europa in Paris und Berlin

FAQ

Eine Bewerbung für das Zukunftsforum Türkei Europa ist möglich, wenn Sie im Besitz eines deutschen, türkischen oder eines EU-Passes sind. Bei doppelter Staatsangehörigkeit geben Sie bitte an, unter welchem Kontingent (Europa, Türkei, Deutschland) Sie sich bewerben. Sie können sich auch bewerben, wenn Sie aus einem europäischen Land kommen, das kein EU-Mitglied ist. In diesem Fall sollten Sie in Ihrem Motivationsschreiben darlegen, warum Sie dennoch teilnehmen möchten. Wir entscheiden dann jeweils im Einzelfall.

Wir wählen jedes Jahr insgesamt 30 Teilnehmer für das Zukunftsforum aus. Wir versuchen, die Plätze mit jeweils einem Drittel europäischer, türkischer und deutscher Teilnehmenden zu besetzen.

Nein. Solange Sie uns von Ihrem Interesse am Forum und dem jeweiligen Thema überzeugen können, gibt es keine Einschränkungen hinsichtlich Fach- und Arbeitsbereich.

Die ausführlichen FAQ können Sie hier herunterladen: PDF 

 

 

Sie können sich ausschließlich während der Bewerbungsfrist online über unser Bewerbertool bewerben. Dafür müssen Sie sich registrieren, das Onlineformular ausfüllen und ihre Unterlagen (Lebenslauf und Motivationsschreiben) hochladen.

Während des Zukunftsforums werden alle Kosten übernommen, die in Verbindung mit dem Programm entstehen. Dazu zählen Reisekosten von Europa, der Türkei und Deutschland zum jeweiligen Veranstaltungsort (Economy Class Flug/ 2. Klasse Bahn), Öffentlicher Nahverkehr vor Ort, die Unterkunft während des Forums, Verpflegung während des Forums sowie andere, im Rahmen des Zukunftsforums entstandene Kosten. Nähere Informationen erhalten Sie zum Zeitpunkt der offiziellen Zusage.

Wir versuchen unser Bestes, um auch Eltern von Kleinkindern die Möglichkeit zu geben am Zukunftsforum teilzunehmen. Wir bitten daher alle Teilnehmenden, die für das Zukunftsforum ausgewählt wurden und eine Kindebetreuung benötigen, sich frühestmöglich bei uns zu melden. Gemeinsam besprechen wir dann vorhandene Möglichkeiten vor Ort. Bisher wurden teilnehmende Eltern häufig von einer Betreuungsperson (Partner,Parterin, Großeltern…) begleitet, auch hier unterstützen wir gerne. 

Medien & Downloads

Projektpartner